FierceEnergy Names Top Power Players

Author: Spencer Ogden
Date posted29/Nov/2011
Author: Spencer Ogden

FierceEnergy has published its Fierce 15 Power Players list, which names the 15 most influential people in energy, determined by those who have made outstanding contributions to the energy industry.


FierceEnergy, a daily email newsletter that covers the energy industry, evaluated the pool of executives based on a variety of factors such as regulatory influence, business savvy, leadership, and technical expertise.

FierceEnergy editor Barbara L. Vergetis Lundin, says, “I have to admit that it was difficult to narrow the list to 15. We have selected each individual because of his/her profound influence and impact on the energy industry in 2011. These individuals have shaped the technology we call the smart grid; they have the ear of energy regulators; they lead customers through the often confusing and ever-changing world of energy and smart grid; and they shape the discussions we have about energy.”
According to FierceEnergy, the Fierce 15 “celebrates the spirit of being fierce—championing innovation and creativity, even in the face of intense competition.”

The 2011 Fierce 15 are:

1. Ron Ambrosio, Global Research Leader, Energy & Utilities Industry, IBM Research
2. Guido Bartels, General Manager, Global Energy & Utilities Industry, IBM Chairman, Global
Smart Grid Federation Board Member and Former Chairman, GridWise Alliance
3. Andres Carvallo, Executive Vice President & Chief Strategy Officer, Proximetry
4. John Cooper, President, Ecomergence
5. Dick DeBlasio, Chair of the IEE P2030 Working Group
6. Eric Dressylhus, Vice President, Markets, Silver Spring Networks
7. Patty Durand, Executive Director of Smart Grid Consumer Collaborative
8. Connie Durcsak, President & CEO, Utilities Telecom Council
9. Dave Elve, Vice President, Sensus
10. Erich Gunther, IEEE Smart Grid Task Force Member, chairman of the IEEE Power &
Energy Society’s (PES) Intelligent Grid Coordinating Committee, an IEEE PES Governing
Board Member and co-founder, chairman and Chief Technology Officer of EnerNex
11. Lee Krevat, Director of Smart Grid for San Diego Gas & Electric
12. John Douglas McDonald, P.E., IEEE Fellow; Director, Technical Strategy & Policy
Development GE Digital Energy
13. Ted Reguly, Director, Customer Programs and Assistance, San Diego Gas & Electric
14. Adrian Tuck, CEO, Tendril
15. Joaquin Silva, CEO, On-Ramp Wireless