The future of shale in the UK - Spencer Ogden host the hottest debate of the year

Author: Spencer Ogden
Date posted01/May/2013
Author: Spencer Ogden

Some of the UK’s leading energy experts are set to gather to debate the future of shale gas at the Spencer Ogden offices in London on Thursday 9th May 2013. The specialist panel, led by Rt Hon Lord Smith, Chairman of the Environment Agency will be chaired by TV news anchor, Sarah Lockett. Other participants include renowned industry analysts, environmental figures and the heads of two oil and gas companies.  

During the roundtable, the panelists will debate questions about the divisive energy source. As part of this, Spencer Ogden is inviting members of the energy community to submit questions for response by the group. Questions can be proposed throughout the event by Tweeting the dedicated Twitter handle @ShaleDebate2013 and using the hashtag #Shale2013.

David Spencer-Percival, CEO of Spencer Ogden, comments: “We are delighted to have such a prestigious panel of guests participating in this debate. Following George Osborne’s ‘dash for gas’ campaign the future of shale has become a very hot topic; we look forward to hearing some of the most controversial and topical issues surrounding shale being debated by the country’s leading energy experts.

“The role of shale in helping us meet our demand for energy is a topic that will affect us all, and we believe it is important that everyone has a chance to pose their questions. Through a live Twitter feed we hope to involve as many people as possible, whether they are experts in oil and gas, or members of the public with an interest in the subject. Shale is a matter of national interest, and this will be a national debate.”

 The Shale Debate 2013 panel consists of:

  • Rt Hon Lord Smith (Chris), chairman, The Environment Agency
  • Dr James Buckee, chairman, En Quest
  • Ken Cronin, CEO, UKOOG
  • Corin Taylor, senior economic advisor, Institute of Directors
  • Professor Alan Riley, solicitor of the Supreme Court of England and Wales, chairman of the Competition Law Scholars Forum and energy specialist.
  • Angela Knight, chief executive, UK Energy
  • Guy Turner, director, Carbon Markets and Renewable Energy Certificates, Bloomberg
  • Andy Brogan, head of Oil and Gas, Ernst and Young
  • Andrew Austin, CEO, iGas
  • Joss Garman, acting political director, Greenpeace UK
  • David Spencer-Percival, CEO of global energy recruitment firm, Spencer Ogden

If you would like to pose a question to the panel please contact TopLine Communications by emailing Alternatively follow @ShaleDebate2013 to receive live updates from the event and submit questions using the hashtag #Shale2013.