Accessibility Links

Nigeria announces 2 nuclear power plants

18 Jun 2015

Following the announcement of its plan to generate a huge 4,800 MW, the Nigeria Atomic Energy Consumption (NAEC) has announced the location of the sites that will generate this energy.

The NAEC has selected Geregu in Kogi State and Itu in Akwa Ibom State as the sites. Two nuclear power plants will be built, each generating 2,400 MW.

The preliminary licensing of the approved sites is expected by the end of 2016.

The Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Power, Dr Godknows Igali, said that the government’s plans within the country’s power sector includes the diversification of the electricity sources. Currently the country produces power from a mixture of 80% gas and 20% hydro, but the new projects will include nuclear power to meet its targets of generating 20,000 MW by 2020.